Nearly There

December 28, 2008

There is a lot I can blog about in these last few days of 2008, the year that was. But that will have to wait.

Every Christmas Eve I dawn the doors of the local church with the family as is the tradition. This year we had met up with cousins, Aunts and Uncles in the GAA Club before the Mass which meant I once again wreaked of alcohol before getting into the church. Even in this state I listen to what the priest utters throughout the service which now he know off by heart and no meaning taken in by what he is doing. Also I listen out for  the contradictions he makes throughout his service possibly not realizing what he is saying.

Its not that I have anything against the Catholic Church, its just that its repetitive and people just go through the motions and out the door. This is my own opinion and there are those in the church who do find great meaning and understanding but for the majority there is nothing.

I really didn’t get into the Christmas mode this year with being sick for a good while and sleeping most of the time which was great.

Leave a Reply

