Goodbye

January 25, 2009

Out of its 15 Seasons, I would have watched 10 Seasons of ER. Yes it has become the same but it has had its highlights from dropping helicopters from the roof to a disease ram-pied throughout the hospital. I still watch it every sunday which is the only thing on TV that I actually ensure I watch.

The most recent episode ” Goodbye Abby” has seen the 3 departure of Actor who has been there since the early seasons of ER and really shows the ending of the ER Series. This departure was at least not by someone dying but giving her respect in leaving. She has been on ER for the last 9 years and has progressed from Nurse to Doctor and with many trials and tribulations.

Abby at the start and end of the episodes quotes Bible verses which I was determined to find out where they were from.

Book of Job, Chapter 3, verses 20-22 and 24-26

20Why is light given to those in misery, and life to the bitter of soul,
21 to those who long for death that does not come, who search for it more than for hidden treasure,
22 who are filled with gladness and rejoice when they reach the grave?
24 For sighing comes to me instead of food; my groans pour out like water.
25 What I feared has come upon me; what I dreaded has happened to me.
26 I have no peace, no quietness; I have no rest, but only turmoil.

At the end of the episode Abby quotes from Job 38, v.16-19:
16 Have you journeyed to the springs of the sea or walked in the recesses of the deep?
17 Have the gates of death been shown to you?…
19 What is the way to the abode of light? And where does darkness reside?
18 Have you comprehended the vast expanses of the earth? Tell me, if you know all this

Leave a Reply

