Unsociable Social Networking

December 18, 2009

I am probably not the first person ever to blog/comment on such a topic but over the last 2 or 3 months I am seeing the effects of Social Networking. It is not by the fact that I am not talking to any of my friends and I am slipping into a place where the only light source is coming from my laptop, but the fact that what we write up on Facebook is being seen by so many and our conversations in real life become of what we have mentioned or did we see what someone said. I am not saying this is a really bad thing as it allows us to express feelings that are hard to say. I would always prefer to write something down and show it rather than to speak out what I just wrote as you won’t chicken out.

Though I do enjoy being on Facebook, Twitter, Youtube and of course this blog, I have cut down on what I had and not venturing into the world of Flickr, Myspace, Bebo (though I have had some of these) and many others that are out there. Yes, it becomes a way to meet new people or keep in contact with long lost friends or those who we once knew but is totally on a superficial level and really only done so to increase in amount of friends, followers or subscribers we have. Some of these people will take no interest in what you actually do and will glance at your status updates every once and a while. This was made evident by meeting people in real life who are friends on Facebook and thinking as I am on there that they would know what I am doing with my Life and not having to ask me the question. I am guility of this also but it showed me that though you have friends, followers or subscribers, do we really think them as that or just another number in the race to have the most people knowing what you are doing right now?

One Response to “Unsociable Social Networking”


  1. […] Unsociable Social Networking « Panda's Blog5 hours ago by pandaalan  I am probably not the first person ever to blog/comment on such a topic but over the last 2 or 3 months I am seeing the effects of Social Networking. It is not by the fact that I am not talking to any of my friends and I am slipping … […]


Leave a Reply

