5 Years On…

March 10, 2010

Today, 10th of March 2010, is the fifth year anniversary of the bone marrow transplant which I gave to my sister who was diagnosed of Aplastic Anemia in early January 2005 while in America.

During the summer of 2004 my sister went to Greece for two or three months to earn some money but ended up in more debt than to begin with. She returned home and went to America on a scholarship to Washington College in August and while there fell sick and was diagnosed with Hepatitis C or A, and was given medicine and told to rest. In December she returned for Xmas and was not too well going back to America.

2 weeks back and she was in hospital and my parents left the following morning after receiving a phone call saying my sister was in hospital. The diagnosis was not known at this time. While at a meeting in the Day’s house Dan prayed for me and said that God will use me soon to bring new life. Couple of weeks later my sister returned to Ireland and was sent to St James’s Hospital Dublin for treatment of Aplastic Anemia. The treatment was for a bone marrow transplant which meant that my Brother or I would be the donor.

After blood samples given to see who would be the best match, I knew I would be the donor, it was calling inside me. Thats what happened, I was about to “bring new life”. God had and still has a hand on my life and being able to bring a new life to people is a great thing to do.

I wish to thank all those who were praying for my family, my sister and I and all those who were giving me support.

One Response to “5 Years On…”

  1. Denise Says:

    Can’t believe that was 5 years ago! Time flies! Didn’t know the bit about Dan praying that over you. That was cool.


Leave a Reply

